A lot of potential higher education candidates have difficulties knowing which universities to apply for, and for lack of better choices, choose those most familiar to them when applying to sit for UTME, while there are vast choices to choose from. If you fall into this category, then this List of Federal Universities in Nigeria was made for you. Before we delve into the list though, a bit of history of University Education in Nigeria.

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria and their Websites

Historical Development of University Education in Nigeria

The history of University education in Nigeria can be traced back to 1943, in which the Elliott Commission culminated in the establishment of University College Ibadan (UCI, now University of Ibadan, UI) in 1948. The UCI was affiliated to the University of London. It was, however, saddled with a lot of problems from the get-go, including poor staffing, low enrolment, high dropout rates, etc. An inquiry dubbed The Ashby Commission was set up by the Federal Government to look into the matter in April 1959, which led to the establishment of the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife) in 1962, by the Western region, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in 1962 by the Northern Region and University of Lagos (1962) by the Federal Government. Prior to this, the Eastern Region established its own university at Nsukka (University of Nigeria, Nsukka) in 1960. Babalola posited that the University College, Ibadan became a full-fledged university in 1962. UCI, Ibadan, and the University of Lagos then became the first two federal universities established in Nigeria – the other three remained regional universities. In 1970, the newly created Midwestern region opted for a university known as the University of Benin.

Between the years of 1975 to 1980, the government established seven universities in the Third National Development Plan.  They were Universities of Calabar, Ilorin, Jos, Sokoto, Maiduguri, Port Harcourt, and Ado Bayero University, Kano. More universities (dubbed the third generation) were established between 1980 and early 1990.  They are the Federal Universities of Technology in Owerri, Makurdi, Yola, Akure, and Bauchi. While state universities were found in Imo, Ondo, Lagos, Akwa Ibom, Oyo, and Cross-River states

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria and Their Respective Websites

Fully accredited Federal Universities in Nigeria and their websites are listed below:

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi – http://www.atbu.edu.ng
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria – http://www.abu.edu.ng
  3. Bayero University, Kano – http://www.buk.edu.ng/
  4. Federal University Gashua – http://www.fugashua.edu.ng/
  5. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun – http://www.fupre.edu.ng/
  6. Federal University of Technology, Akure – http://www.futa.edu.ng/
  7. Federal University of Technology, Minna – http://www.futminna.edu.ng/
  8. Federal University of Technology, Owerri – http://www.futo.edu.ng/
  9. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State – http://www.fud.edu.ng/
  10. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina – http://www.fudutsinma.edu.ng/
  11. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State – http://www.fukashere.edu.ng/
  12. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State – http://www.fulafia.edu.ng/
  13. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State – http://www.fulokoja.edu.ng/
  14. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State – http://www.funai.edu.ng/
  15. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa – http://www.fuotuoke.edu.ng/
  16. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State – http://www.fuoye.edu.ng/
  17. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State – http://www.fuwukari.edu.ng/
  18. Federal University, Birnin Kebbi – http://www.fubk.edu.ng/
  19. Federal University, Gusau – http://www.fugus.edu.ng/
  20. Michael Okpara Uni. of Agric., Umudike – http://www.mouau.edu.ng/
  21. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola – http://www.mautech.edu.ng/
  22. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos. – http://www.nou.edu.ng/
  23. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna – http://www.nda.edu.ng/
  24. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka – http://www.unizik.edu.ng/
  25. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife – http://www.oauife.edu.ng/
  26. The Police Academy Wudil – http://www.npf.gov.ng/
  27. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada – http://www.uniabuja.edu.ng/
  28. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta – http://www.unaab.edu.ng/
  29. University of Agriculture, Makurdi – http://www.uam.edu.ng/
  30. University of Benin – http://www.uniben.edu.ng/
  31. University of Calabar – http://www.unical.edu.ng/
  32. University of Ibadan – http://www.ui.edu.ng/
  33. University of Ilorin – http://www.unilorin.edu.ng/
  34. University of Jos – http://www.unijos.edu.ng/
  35. University of Lagos – http://www.unilag.edu.ng/
  36. University of Maiduguri – http://www.unimaid.edu.ng/
  37. University of Nigeria, Nsukka – http://www.unn.edu.ng/
  38. University of Port-Harcourt – http://www.uniport.edu.ng/
  39. University of Uyo – http://www.uniuyo.edu.ng/
  40. Usumanu Danfodiyo University – http://www.udusok.edu.ng/

That ends the list of Federal Universities in Nigeria, all fully approved and accredited by the NUC.