The leaders of 23 countries have officially expressed their desire to join the BRICS, South African Foreign Minister Naledi Pandor said during a press briefing.

23 Countries That Has Officially Expressed Their Desire to Join the BRICS

“We have received official expressions of interest from the leaders of 23 countries about joining the BRICS. And even more — unofficial requests about the possibilities of membership in the BRICS,” the diplomat said.

Among these States were

  1. Algeria
  2. Argentina
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Bahrain
  5. Belarus
  6. Bolivia
  7. Cuba
  8. Egypt
  9. Ethiopia
  10. Honduras
  11. Indonesia
  12. Iran
  13. Kazakhstan
  14. Kuwait
  15. Morocco
  16. Nigeria
  17. Palestine
  18. Saudi Arabia
  19. Senegal
  20. Thailand
  21. UAE
  22. Venezuela
  23. Vietnam.

Naledi added that the high interest confirms the status of BRICS as an advanced organization defending the interests of the countries of the Global South.