The Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly was all elected by their various constituencies in the 2019 general election that took place on February 23rd 2019. They have also been issued certificates of return by INEC (Independent National Electoral Commission). This post contains the complete names of the elected senators, the political party and constituency each of them represents.

This article will actually be useful for many Nigerians residing inside or outside the country who are actually bothered about politics or current affairs. For instance, after reading through, you will get to know the various federal constituencies in each state, and also the particular senator-elect representing each one of them. But before I proceed in revealing the names of the Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly, let me first of all give you a hint of what the National Assembly is all about.

Must read: Constitutional Democracy: Definition, Features and Advantages

Complete List of Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly (2019 – 2023)

The Nigerian National Assembly

The National Assembly (NASS) is the nation’s highest legislature, whose power to make laws is summarized in chapter one, section four of the 1999 Nigerian Constitution. 

Sections 47-49 of the 1999 Constitution state inter alia that “There shall be a National Assembly (NASS) for the federation which shall consist of two chambers: the Senate and the House of Representatives”. 

This post is particularly looking at the first chamber of the Nigerian National Assembly – the Senate.

Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly

Below are the names of the Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly with their respective political party and constituency.

  1. Abia North – Kalu Orji Uzor (APC)
  2. Abia Central – Orji Theodore Ahamefule (PDP)
  3. Abia South – Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP)
  4. Adamawa North-  Ishaku Elisha Cliff (PDP)
  5. Adamawa South-  Yaroe Binos Dauda (PDP)
  6. Adamawa Central-  Dahiru Aishatu Ahmed (APC)
  7. Akwa Ibom North East – Akpan Bassey Albert (PDP)
  8. Akwa Ibom North West – Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong (PDP)
  9. Akwa Ibom South – Eyakenyi Akon Etim (PDP)
  10. Anambra North – Stella Oduah (PDP)
  11. Anambra Central-  Uche Lilian Ekwunife (PDP)
  12. Anambra South-  Ifeanyi Ubah (YPP)
  13. Bauchi South –Lawal Gumau (APC)
  14. Bauchi Central- Jika Dauda Halliru (APC)
  15. Bauchi North – Bulkachuwa Adamu Muhammad (APC)
  16. Bayelsa East-  Degi Eremienyo Biobaraku Wangagra (APC)
  17. Bayelsa Central-  Diri Douye (PDP)
  18. Bayelsa West – Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence (PDP)
  19. Benue North East – Gabriel Suswam (PDP)
  20. Benue North West – Emmanuel Yisa Orker-Jev (PDP)
  21. Benue South-  Patrick Abba Moro (PDP)
  22. Borno North-  Kyari Abubakar Shaib (APC)
  23. Borno Central – Kashim Shettima (APC)
  24. Borno South – Ali Ndume (APC)
  25. Cross River North – Oko Rose Okoji (PDP)
  26. Cross River Central – Onor Sandy Ojang (PDP)
  27. Cross River South – Gershom Bassey (PDP)
  28. Delta Central – Ovie Omo-Agege (APC)
  29. Delta North – Peter Nwaoboshi (PDP)
  30. Delta South-  James Ebiowou Manager (PDP)
  31. Ebonyi North-  Egwu Samuel Ominyi (PDP)
  32. Ebonyi Central-  Ogba Joseph Obinna (PDP)
  33. Ebonyi South – Micheal Ama Nnachi (PDP)
  34. Edo Central – Ordia Akhimienmona Cliffford (PDP)
  35. Edo North – Alimikhena Francis Asekhame (APC)
  36. Edo South-  Urhoghide Matthew Aisagbonriodion (PDP)
  37. Ekiti North – Adetunmbi Olubunmi Ayodeji (APC)
  38. Ekiti Central – Bamidele Micheal Opeyemi (APC)
  39. Ekiti South – Adeyeye Clement Adebayo (APC)
  40. Enugu East-  Nnamani Chimaroke Ogbonnia (PDP)
  41. Enugu West-  Ike Ekweremadu (PDP)
  42. Enugu North – Utazi Godfrey Chukwuka (PDP)
  43. Gombe Central-  Danjuma Goje (APC)
  44. Gombe South-  Amos Bulus Kilawangs (APC)
  45. Gombe North-  Alkali Saidu Ahmed (APC)
  46. Imo East-  Onyewuchi Ezenwa Francis (PDP)
  47. Imo West – Rochas Okorocha (APC)
  48. Imo North – Pending (Supplementary)
  49. Jigawa South West – Mohammed Sabo (APC)
  50. Jigawa North East – Hassan Ibrahim Hadeija (APC)
  51. Jigawa North West-  Sankara Danladi Abdullahi (APC)
  52. Kaduna North-  Kwari Suleiman Abdu (APC)
  53. Kaduna Central – Sani Uba (PDP)
  54. Kaduna South-  Laah Danjuma Tella (APC)
  55. Kano Central-  Ibrahim Shekarau (APC)
  56. Kano North – Barau Jibrin (APC)
  57. Kano South-  Gaya Ibrahim Kabiru (APC)
  58. Katsina North – Babba Ahmad Kaita (APC)
  59. Katsina South – Mandiya Bello (APC)
  60. Katsina Central – Abdullahi Kabir (APC)
  61. Kebbi North – Abdullahi Abubakar Yahaya (APC)
  62. Kebbi Central-  Adamu Mainasara Aliero Muhammad (APC)
  63. Kebbi South-  Na Allah Bala Ibn (APC)
  64. Kogi Central – Yakubu Oseni (APC)
  65. Kogi East –Jibrin Isah (APC)
  66. Kogi West – Dino Melaye (PDP)
  67. Kwara North – Umar Suleiman Sadiq (APC)
  68. Kwara Central – Oloriegbe Yahaya Ibrahim (APC)
  69. Kwara South – Ashiru Oyelola Yisa (APC)
  70. Lagos Central – Remi Tinubu (APC)
  71. Lagos East – Osinowo Sikiru Adebayo (APC)
  72. Lagos West-  Adeola Soloman Olamilekan (APC)
  73. Nasarawa East-  Akwashiki Godiya (APC)
  74. Nasarawa North – Abdullahi Adamu (APC)
  75. Nasarawa South – Tanko Al-Makura (APC)
  76. Niger East – Mohammed Sani Musa (APC)
  77. Niger North – Abdullahi Aliyu Sabi (APC)
  78. Niger South-  Bima Muhammad Enagi (APC)
  79. Ogun Central-  Ibikunle Amosun (APC)
  80. Ogun East-  Mustapha Ramoni Olalekan (APC)
  81. Ogun West – Odebiyi Tolulope Akinremi (APC)
  82. Ondo North – Boroface Robert Ajayi (APC)
  83. Ondo Central – Akinyelure Patrick Ayo (PDP)
  84. Ondo South – Nicholas Tofowomo (PDP)
  85. Osun Central – Surajudeen Ajibola Basiru (APC)
  86. Osun East-  Fadahunsi Francis Adenigba (PDP)
  87. Osun West-  Oriolowo Adelere Adeyemi (APC)
  88. Oyo Central – Folarin Teslim Kolawole (APC)
  89. Oyo North-  Buhari Abdulfatai (APC)
  90. Oyo South – Kola Ademola Balogun (PDP)
  91. Plateau South – Ignatius Datong Longjan (APC)
  92. Plateau Central – Dimka Hezekiah Ayuba (APC)
  93. Plateau North – Gyang Istifanus Dung (PDP)
  94. Rivers East – Pending (Supplementary)
  95. Rivers South East-  Mpigi Barinada (PDP)
  96. Rivers West – Thompson Sekibo (PDP)
  97. Sokoto East-  Gobir Ibrahim Abdullahi (APC)
  98. Sokoto North-  Aliyu Wamakko (APC)
  99. Sokoto South – Shehu Abubakar Tambuwal (APC)
  100. Taraba South-  Bwacha Emmanuel (PDP)
  101. Taraba Central – Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (APC)
  102. Taraba North-  Isa Shuaibu Lau (PDP)
  103. Yobe East – Gaidam Ibrahim Alhaji (APC)
  104. Yobe North-  Ahmed Lawan (APC)
  105. Yobe South-  Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed (APC)
  106. Zamfara North-  Kaura Tijjani Yahaya (APC)
  107. Zamfara Central – Aliyu Ikra Bilbis (APC)
  108. Zamfara West-  Abdul’aziz Yari (APC)
  109. FCT – Tanimu Philip Aduda (PDP)

As usual, we have a total of 109 senators of the 9th National Assembly. Some of the names you will find in the above list were past governors of their respective states, while some have been in the senate for many years now, and are still re-elected. These elected senators are in charge of decision making in Nigeria, and passing of bills which are then adopted into laws in the country. The ruling party, APC (All Progressive Congress) has more amounts of senators when compared to other political parties.

Also read: History of Democracy in Nigeria and when did Nigeria became a Republic?

So now you have it. This sums up this very article about the list of Nigerian Senators of the 9th National Assembly. You can freely subscribe to this site – Nigerian Fact to get the latest news and facts about Nigeria delivered directly into your email.