The Supreme Court has declared Hope Uzodinma as the winner of the 2019 Imo Gubernatorial election, that took place of March 9, 2019, and orders for the immediate sack of Emeka Ihedioha.

Emeka Ihedioha and Hope Uzodinma

The judgement was delivered on Tuesday, January 14, 2019. It was delivered by a 7-man panel of judges led by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), justice Tanko Muhammad. The CJN held that Emeka Ihedioha who contested under the Peoples Democratic Party was not duly elected.

The led judgement was delivered by Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, and she declared Senator Hope Uzodinma who contested under the All Progressive Congress (APC), S the valid winner of the 2019 governorship election held in Imo state on March 9, 2019.

The Supreme Court then ordered that the certificate of return that was issues to Ihedioha should be withdrawn with immediate effect.

Nigerian Fact also gathered that the apex court also ordered that a fresh certificate of return should be issued to Uzodinma, and he should be sworn in as the governor of Imo state.