The National Universities Commission (NUC) of Nigeria has split the Mass Communication degree into seven degree awarding programmes/departments, while making Mass Communication to stand as a faculty. NUC is a government commission which promotes quality higher education in Nigeria.

NUC Splits Mass Communication into 7 New Programmes/Departments

Also read: Art Courses in Nigerian Universities; See Complete List and Details

7 New Departments Under the Faculty of Mass Communication

The seven new Programmes/Departments that will be under the Faculty of Mass Communication are:

  1. Journalism and Media Studies
  2. Public Relations
  3. Advertising
  4. Broadcasting
  5. Film and Multimedia Studies
  6. Development Communication Studies
  7. Information and Media Studies

The split of the Mass Communication department into seven degree programmes carried out by the NUC is to meet present demand in the educational system.

This announcement was made in Abuja by the NUC’s Executive Secretary, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed.

What are your thought about this new development? Please share your views in the comment section of this page.